TAdvFlickr authentication not working

Hi - I'm new to the VCL Cloud components. Trying out the Flickr component. Have specified the key and secret I set up with the Flickr API and entered these under the "App" property. But authentication does not work. if you keep "externalbrowser" to false the authentication message reports that the browser you are using is no longer supported by showing this:

If you set externalbroswer to true you do reach the API authentication page, but after granting permission and a long delay I get browser error message 127.0.0.1 refused to connect. As far as I can tell I am not blocking port 8888.

The problem can be easily replicated via the Flickr demo, and my test program contains just a single line of my code to run "DoAuth".

I am running Delphi 11.1 on Windows 11 with latest TMS CVL Cloud components. (TAdvFlickr 1.0.4.0)

Any help greatly appreciated - thanks as always!

Update - I had not set the App type on the Flickr API settings to "Desktop". Doing so changes the error that gets reported. I now see error: 127.0.0.1 took too long to respond. Perhaps Flickr API is expecting HTTPS communications. I tried setting the callback URL to https://127.0.0.1:8888 but then got error message " This site can’t provide a secure connection". I could not see a way to set up TAdvFlickr component to support HTTPS (and presumably this would require a certificate?)

No doubt I am making some very basic error!

Thanks again for any advice!

Hi,

A change in the Flickr API authentication process is the cause of this issue.
It seems that any HTTP callback URL that is provided in the app configuration is automatically converted to HTTPS during the authentication process. This is causing issues for desktop applications that are using a localhost callback URL.

For example: The callback URL "http://127.0.0.1:888" is provided, but after authentication the Flickr API redirects to "https://127.0.0.1:8888" which is unavailable.