TWebClientConnection and Basic Authentication

Hello!

I'm accessing a REST API that requires BASIC authentication. I use TWebClientConnection to access the API. When for testing purposes the authentication is disabled at the server side, TWebClientConnection works and returns the expected data. With authentication enabled, I am unable to get it to work. Although I'm a Delphi programmer "only" and somewhat expected that TMS Web Core would hide that nasty HTML/HTTP jadda-jadda from me, I understand that when it comes to authentication the component doesn't support me and I have to fiddle with headers myself :-((
I found out that for Basic Authentication I need a header like this: "Authorization: Basic YXBpdXNlcjp0cmFsbGFsYQ==", where the "YXBpdXNlcjp0cmFsbGFsYQ==" is the base64 encoded username:password . This I seem to have to enter in the Header stringlist property of the component like this: "Authorization=Basic YXBpdXNlcjp0cmFsbGFsYQ==".

But it doesn't work. The HTML result is "401" and the component fires the OnConnectError event with a meaningless ErrorCode of 0.

Using a local XAMPP stack and Delphi's RESTDebugger with Basic Authentication enabled, it works! I do receive the expected JSON data. If I just enter the URL "http://localhost/api.php/records/User" in the browser, it also works. Both ways, using the browser debugger I see these headers:

GET /api.php/records/User HTTP/1.1
[...]
Authorization: Basic YXBpdXNlcjp0cmFsbGFsYQ==
[...]

Instead, when using the Web Core component with the above authorizaton header added to the Header property, the headers visible in the browser debugger change to this:

OPTIONS /api.php/records/User HTTP/1.1
[...]
Access-Control-Request-Headers: authorization
[...]

Main thing I see here is that "GET" changed to "OPTION". I assume this is wrong. Then, regarding the authorization, the expected "Authorization=Basic YXBpdXNlcjp0cmFsbGFsYQ==" doesn't come through.

I also tried adding the header in code like this: