Newbie looking for CDS record guidance

I'm just starting out with Scripter - and having read the manual and run a couple of the samples I'm still a bit uncertain on how to proceed.

I have a situation whereby I have code that parses a .csv file and populates a ClientDataSet  (or maybe FDMemTable).

There are fields in the CDS that will be populated based on values extracted from the .csv.

So, for example, I might load a number of purchase order transactions from CSV.

I'll need to categorize the type of order based on some criteria - say, Canadian vs U.S. destination, and PO number 2-digit prefix.

Loading the CSV in an adaptable fashion (ie field mapping) is simple. Post-processing the data record-by-record is simple.

What I'm looking for is guidance in how I would supply a record-by-record "post validate" script that an end-user could modify (eg to add a new PO 2-digit prefix to a case statement). That is:

cds.first;
  while not cds.eof do begin
     Scripter.SomeValidation( pass in cds at current record);
     cds.next;
  end;

I don't mind spending a bunch of time figuring this out - but a head-start would be great!

TIA.

Cheers,
EdB

Hi Ed,

there are a couple of ways to accomplish that, depending on how you want your user to write the script. You can simply define a global property in script named "Dataset" using DefineProp, and in the implementation of the getter of that property, you return the dataset you want (in this case, the cds variable). For example (not exact code, just for reference):

DefineProp(?Dataset',tkClass, __GetScriptDataset, nil, TDataset);

procedure TSomeClass.__GetScriptDataset(AMachine: TatVirtualMachine);
begin
 with AMachine do
ReturnOutputArg(TScriptGPObject(CurrentObject).InBuffer[VarToInteger(GetArrayIndex(0))]);
end;

procedure TSomeClass.__SetScriptInBuffer(AMachine: TatVirtualMachine);
begin
 with AMachine do
    ReturnOutputArg(ObjectToVar(cds));
end;