FMX Support

Will FireMonkey support be added in the near future?

Currently the ASYNC32 components can only be used by VCL projects.

I vote yes !

Just started a new FireMonkey project and had to go back to VCL just because of Async32 limitations...

On what device/machine/operating system do you work?

I'd like to port some of my PC applications (Win32) to run on Android and if possible Win8 / Win RT. 

We do a lot of work with many serial devices running in the factory and in the field.   Tablets are easier for the techs to carry and use for configuration/diagnostics.   For those tablets with USB ports capable of USB host mode, they are great candidates for adapting existing test apps to.   

I'm a C / C++ developer, and have been watching Embarcadero, but for now, I expect Mobile Development in C++ Builder to show up in XE6.  We will maneuver towards what Embarcadero will support regarding Mobile OS's / Hardware (beyond Apple products).   

I keep thinking that if we undergo a new project to utilize FireMonkey to get ready (for XE6).

I'm currently developing on a Windows7 system for both the Windows and OSX Platforms.

Using FMX is a requirement to develop for both those platforms if you want to use the same code base. Even though the ASYNC32 component would not work on a MAC, it would be nice to be able to use it for the Windows platform in the same project.

I recently came across this video for something called "MonkeyMixer"...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TbCLU6vWjeQ

MonkeyMixer is an ide utility that provides a way to combine vcl and fmx forms in the same project. The video demos how this is done, and shows the resulting application.

The (updated) utility can be downloaded here:

http://www.lakraven.com/downloads/MonkeyMixerSetup.exe