Embedding formulas, related issues

I am about to design support for sheets with embedded formulas, and among the various concerns is that of a user inadvertently overriding or altering a formula in the sheet. So I am now considering strategies through which these things could be done in a more robust way. 

Cell locking and page protection are obvious tools to apply, but as some of the calculations will involve data in hidden columns, I am wondering also about ways of protecting these columns from alteration. One thought was to place such data on a separate hidden sheet, so the displayed sheet would have no hidden columns. That notion led to the "very hidden" sheet setting which is accessible through the VB editor in Excel. Does FlexCel provide access to these settings?

I must apologize for this question being very broad, but I am only beginning to explore the possible solutions, and cannot yet narrow things much, as I am unsure of the range of tools available.

About very hidden sheets, yes, we support it. Just do:

xls.SheetVisible := TXlsSheetVisible.VeryHidden;

Now, about protecting the file, I think you are in the right track: There aren't too many tools to "protect" a file, but basically you can make the full thing readonly, you can protect cells, or yu can use hidden sheets.

Of course, none of those protections are actual "protections", and anyone with google at their disposal is going to be able to "unprotect" those protections in minutes. they can remove sheet/workbook protections even if using passwords, and they can write a macro that makes the "very hidden" sheets visible. And if they don't have the technical skills, they can just google for tools that do it.