Create an application for Google's Calendar API

Hello Folks!

I have been using the Google Calendar API since October 2014 thanks to VCL Cloud Pack. Today I migrated the application to Delphi 10.4 using the latest version of TAdvGCalendar. But my DUnit test cases for adding/editing/deleting a Google Calendar entry failed. So I went back to the same project in Delphi 10.3.2 and tested it there as well. Another failure. This was working not so long ago. The error I get inside the REST handling of the component is: "API key not valid. Please pass a valid API key."

I read up on how to create an application for Google's Calendar API via the API console here. In my OAuth consent screen I added the scopes
  • ../auth/calendar.events
  • ../auth/calendar.readonly
and as a result the OAuth consent screen now needs verification. Previously I did not use these scopes and had a "native client" as OAuth 2.0 Client ID.

I also added an Application Homepage link and an Application Privacy Policy link today.  I also did a Domain verification and added a DNS entry to my domain name for Google. A SSL certificate exists for my domain name and is installed.

I have tried the new Client ID & Client secret of the new Client ID for Web application. But I am still told that my app has not been verified and when I accept the "risk" and proceed to give my application the right to add, edit & delete calendar entries in my personal test calendar I can not get a valid token. The token TAdvGCalendar returns is way too short (e.g. just 6 characters).

Do I really need the above OAuth scopes? Have these OAuth requirements of Google changed recently? Am I doing the right thing and just need to wait for the app verification by Google?

Thanks for a short answer in advance.

Salut,
  Mathias

Hi,

Note that there is no need for extra scopes. The default scopes should be sufficient.

The error you mentioned is caused by recent changes in the Google APIs.