access database import

Hello I am totally new to Flexcel, in fact just downloaded the demo and about to install into delphi.

My question is i have a access database which stores datetimes field like this...

USER       |             TIME
10             |        20/08/2010 14:58:03
10             |        20/08/2010 18:45:02
10             |        21/08/2010 14:40:34
23             |        21/08/2010 15:02:10
10             |        21/08/2010 18:40:59

etc.

so can I import the data and convert it from a column view to a row view by date and also make separate sheets for each user?
like this...
--------------------------------------------------
SHEET 1  = user 10
20/08/2010    |   14:58:03   |    18:45:02
21/08/2010    |   14:40:34   |    18:40:59

---------------------------------------------------

if I can do this with Flexcel & how would I do it?

Thanks

Phil

Hi,

Yes, you can do that, how you do it depends in what tools you want to use. If you want to use the API, you can use FlexCelImport.SetCellValue, and calculate everything with code. While sometimes this is the best solution (if it proves too complex to extract data to create a FlexCelReport), I think I would use FlexCelReport here.  

This is how I would do it:
First of all, you need a dataset for the users. It you are using TQuery to access the db, then you shuold make a "Select distinct user from table".

Then, in a FlexCelReport component, set the properties:
"PagesDataSet" to the "User" dataset
"PagesDataField" to the string "user" or whatever the field is called in the dataset.

With this, you will have a sheet per user.
(you can try to run the report at this point to see how it is going, it should create a sheet per user, and name it as the user)

Now, you need to create a detail dataset that will have the records for every user. Normally this would be simple, just create a "select * from table" query and link it in master-detail to the "user" dataset.